History of Isle au Haut Lighthouse
The Keeper's House Inn, is an operating lighthouse station located on the remote island of Isle au Haut, Maine. Originally named Robinson Point Lighthouse, it sits atop rugged ledges overlooking the Atlantic, surrounded by dense spruce forests and island panoramas.
Built by the U.S. Lighthouse Board in 1907 and now on the National Register of Historic Places, the Isle au Haut Lighthouse is a living museum where guests take a step back in time to experience the beauty and solitude of another era.
Isle au Haut Lighthouse is owned by the town of Isle au Haut. Learn about town's Lighthouse Committee.
The station was fully restored in 1986 when it was converted to use as an inn. During the summer of 1999, guests at were able to witness the completion of the Isle Au Haut lighthouse restoration. Specialists replaced rotten brick and rebuilt the architectural details that brought the tower back to its original appearance.
We're happy to arrange for programs on the nation's movement to save our lighthouses; including preservation techniques.
Another significant restoration is in he works. Funds are being raised to restore the fog bell that once hung over the water from the side of the tower. Donate to Friends of the Isle au Haut Lighthouse and support this important work.